OVWG

The Austrian Association for Betting and Gambling (OVWG) represents the domestic interests of online gambling and betting providers licensed in the EU. As an industry representative, it advocates the modern and sustainable regulation of the online sector in Austria.

More Information

Play Fair Code Member

The OVWG is a member of the Play Fair Code and thus a strong partner and expert in the fight against match fixing and for the promotion of integrity in sport.

The Play Fair Code (association for maintaining integrity in sport) is an initiative of the Ministry of Sport (BMOEDS), the Austrian Football Association (ÖFB) and the Austrian Football League (ÖFBL).

Play fair code (Website)

Topics

The OVWG is working to improve the legal framework for online gambling and online sports betting. In addition to regulatory considerations, the issue of player protection is of utmost importance to us.

Goals & Strategy

Our Values

The OVWG pursues the goal of achieving legal certainty and fairness for all providers on the Austrian online gaming and betting market. In doing so, it aims to achieve uniform, market-compliant regulation throughout Austria, which is in line with the requirements of Union law – both in regulatory and tax terms. It is convinced that an open licensing system, in which licensing is linked to high standards of player protection, and fair taxation of providers, can achieve an advantageous system for all: Guaranteed tax revenues and complete supervision for the state, high player protection standards for customers and legal certainty for responsible providers.

This system also means that players in Austria will in future be able to choose from a wide range of legal, secure gaming and betting services and will therefore be less tempted to switch to unlicensed providers. This channeling effect results in all players playing in a regulated system with clear protection and control mechanisms. Only a corresponding range of regulated sports betting and gambling can meet the objectives of the legislator, in particular with regard to player protection.

Members

Media Contact

Download our position paper, other press materials and information about our studies in our download section “MEDIA”, or contact us for a press talk.

MEDIA
Contact

OVWG

Die Österreichische Vereinigung für Wetten und Glücksspiel (OVWG) ist die  inländische Interessenvertretung von in der EU lizenzierten Online-Glücksspiel- und Wettanbietern. Als Branchenvertretung setzt sie sich für eine moderne und nachhaltige Regulierung des Online-Bereichs in Österreich ein.

Mehr erfahren

Mitglied im Play Fair Code

Die OVWG ist Mitglied im Play Fair Code und somit ein starker Partner und Experte im Kampf gegen Match-Fixing und für die Förderung von Integrität im Sport.

Der Play Fair Code (Verein zur Wahrung der Integrität im Sport) ist eine Initiative des Sportministeriums (BMOEDS), des Österreichischen Fußball-Bundes (ÖFB) und der Österreichischen Fußball-Bundesliga (ÖFBL).

Play fair code (Website)

Themen

Die OVWG wirkt darauf hin, die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen für Online-Glücksspiel und Online-Sportwetten zu verbessern. Dabei ist neben den regulatorischen Überlegungen das Thema Spielerschutz von größter Wichtigkeit.

Ziele & Strategie

Unsere Werte

Die OVWG verfolgt das Ziel, auf dem österreichischen Online-Glücksspiel- und Wettmarkt Rechtssicherheit und Fairness für alle Anbieter zu erreichen. Dabei strebt sie eine österreichweit einheitliche, marktkonforme Regulierung an, die im Einklang mit den Vorgaben des Unionsrechts steht – dies sowohl in regulatorischer als auch in steuerlicher Hinsicht. Sie ist davon überzeugt, dass durch ein offenes Lizenzsystem, in dem die Lizenzvergabe an hohe Spielerschutzstandards geknüpft ist, und einer fairen Besteuerung der Anbieter ein vorteilhaftes System für alle erreicht werden kann: Garantierte Steuereinnahmen und eine lückenlose Aufsicht für den Staat, hohe Spielerschutzstandards für die Kunden und Rechtssicherheit für verantwortungsvolle Anbieter.

Dieses System führt auch dazu, dass Spieler in Österreich zukünftig aus einer breiten Palette an legalen, sicheren Spiel- und Wettangeboten wählen können und daher weniger verleitet sind, auf unlizenzierte Anbieter auszuweichen. Dieser Kanalisierungseffekt führt dazu, dass alle Spieler in einem regulierten System spielen, das eindeutige Schutz- und Kontrollmechanismen aufweist. Nur ein entsprechendes Angebot an regulierten Sportwetten und Glücksspielen kann den Zielen des Gesetzgebers, insbesondere in Bezug auf den Spielerschutz, gerecht werden.

Mitglieder

Pressekontakt

Laden Sie in unserem Medien-Bereich unser Positionspapier, andere Presseunterlagen sowie Informationen zu unseren Studien herunter oder kontaktieren Sie uns für ein Pressegespräch.

Medien-Bereich
Kontakt